Justin Herbert named Pepsi’s 2020 NFL Rookie of the Year

Justin Herbert

Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert was named Pepsi’s 2020 NFL Rookie of the Year, the league announced Thursday, following a record-setting first season after being selected sixth overall in the 2020 NFL Draft.

Herbert was chosen by Fan Vote for the first time via Twitter and on NFL.com.

Herbert set an NFL rookie record for the most touchdown passes (31), completions (396) and passing yards (4,336). He set a new record for the most 300-yard passing games by a rookie (eight), surpassing Andrew Luck, who did it six times in 2012.

Herbert was the third quarterback selected in the 2020 draft behind Joe Burrow (1.01, Bengals) and Tua Tagovailoa (Dolphins, 1.05). It looks like he may end up being the best of the bunch.

Bryan Perez

Bryan is the founder of Pro Football Draft. His work has been featured on The Draft Network, NBC Sports and USA Today. Former CFL scout.

Follow him on Twitter: @BryanPerezNFL